To get the most out of this website, please upgrade your browser to the latest version.

Article Review Service

Your time is valuable and staying on top of the latest information is tough, so let us do some of the work for you. We comb through over two dozen magazines, journals, and websites to bring you good reading on culture, leadership, teams, and more. Share your e-mail address using the form on the right, and we'll deliver a list of the top articles straight to your inbox once each month. You'll also receive instant access to our white paper library. Both are free, and are a valuable addition to your development toolkit.

Culture

The Modern Leadership Philosophy That Creates a Culture of Commitment

November 6, 2017

Author and CEO Andrew Fayad scoured “the best of what we were seeing in the leadership philosophy space to create RIDE…It’s an acronym we developed to represent our guiding leadership principles: relationships, instill meaning, development, and execution.”


How To Create A Culture Where The Best Ideas Win

October 6, 2017

“The most successful companies understand that anyone in the organization, not just the executive team, can have ideas that can change the company for the better,” says Amerisleep COO Joey Holt in Forbes. “Here’s what I’ve learned is necessary to create a culture that fosters, rewards, and empowers itself through great ideas.”


Leadership

Can You Be a Great Leader Without Technical Expertise?

November 15, 2017

“There is a broad assumption in society and in education that the skills you need to be a leader are more or less transferable,” says Art Markman in Harvard Business Review. “But recent research is rightly challenging this notion. Studies suggest that the best leaders know a lot about the domain in which they are leading, and part of what makes them successful in a management role is technical competence.”


This Is The Overlooked Trait That We Need To Cultivate At Work

November 3, 2017

“When it comes to making tough decisions, coming up with creative solutions to problems, and being an inspiring leader, outer work plays a small role…in a knowledge economy, what we’re really getting paid to do each and every day is fueled by critical inner work,” says Alexi Robichaux in Fast Comapny. “And there’s a profitable side effect of doing it, which is exponentially elevating the value of our decision-making and productivity.”


Teams

Four Secrets for Turning Insight into Execution

November 14, 2017

“Brain science shows that new insights are fragile,” says Elizabeth Doty in Strategy+Business. But, she adds, “you can increase your team’s execution effectiveness by shifting your view of your role as a leader. Instead of being a taskmaster or allowing poor follow-up to undermine results, you can think of yourself as the architect of your team’s focus and attention — using simple practices to reactivate the insights that really matter over time.”


Stages of Team Development and Leadership

October 11, 2017

“Understanding the stages of team development helps you determine where to focus your leadership efforts,” says Jesse Lyn Stoner. “Teams might move quickly through these stages, but there is no evidence that a team has ever started off as a high performance team.”


Other

Your Strategy Has to Be Flexible — But So Does Your Execution

November 16, 2017

According to HBR’s Martin Reeves, “Execution should be as varied, as thoughtful, as subtle, as diverse and as intertwined with strategy as is necessary to get the job done, and that will vary according to the specific challenge at hand.”


What Everyone Gets Wrong About Change Management

November 7, 2017

“Before worrying about how to change, executive teams need to figure out what to change—in particular, what to change first…When companies don’t choose their transformation battles wisely, their efforts have a negative effect on performance.” Harvard Business Review asks “How can leaders decide which changes to prioritize at the moment?”


Subscribe to our Podcast
iTunes
RSS Feed
Stitcher Radio
Start Leading with Intention
Download an excerpt from Mindy Hall’s upcoming book Leading with Intention, and you’ll also receive our free, monthly Article Review Service.