To get the most out of this website, please upgrade your browser to the latest version.

Article Review Service

Your time is valuable and staying on top of the latest information is tough, so let us do some of the work for you. We comb through over two dozen magazines, journals, and websites to bring you good reading on culture, leadership, teams, and more. Share your e-mail address using the form on the right, and we'll deliver a list of the top articles straight to your inbox once each month. You'll also receive instant access to our white paper library. Both are free, and are a valuable addition to your development toolkit.

Culture

Purpose Remains A Very Confusing Term

May 18, 2017

“There is a personal element to both culture and purpose,” writes Dan Pontefract. “One cannot rely solely on the organization to enact an engaged culture or a purpose-driven ethos. It really does start with you.”


5 Signs that it’s Time for a Culture Upgrade

April 25, 2017

“There are always telltale signs that your company culture needs an upgrade,” writes Brent Gleeson in Inc. “Don’t ignore them!”


Leadership

Eliminate Your “Authenticity Filters”

May 17, 2017

“Many of us feel at times as if we are impersonating a leader rather than working out what it means to be ourselves in a position of leadership,” writes Jesse Sostrin in Strategy+Business. “Instead of covering up those underdeveloped areas, great leaders learn how to operate as they truly are.”


As a Leader, Everything Matters

May 16, 2017

Everything you do—every action you take or word you speak—sends a message. Says author and CEO Jim Schleckser, “If you want people to follow what you say, you need to act in a similar fashion…It’s the kind of optics you send to the organization. The takeaway is that as a leader, your actions speak louder than words, but your words also need to be consistent with your actions.”


Teams

3 Steps To Create A High-functioning Team

April 18, 2017

“A team that makes the most of the talent around the table creates better results” writes Joelle K Jay in Inc. “A high-functioning team is not easy to build. But it can be done – and the following three steps are a great start.”


Teams Solve Problems Faster When They’re More Cognitively Diverse

March 31, 2017

“If cognitive diversity is what we need to succeed in dealing with new, uncertain, and complex situations,” say Alison Reynolds and David Lewis in Harvard Business Review, “leaders will have to get much better at building their team’s sense of psychological safety.”


Other

What If Companies Managed People as Carefully as They Manage Money?

May 24, 2017

“Financial capital is abundant but carefully managed; human capital is scarce but not carefully managed. Why? In part, it’s because we value and reward good management of financial capital. And we measure it. Great CEOs are held in high regard for their clever management and allocation of financial capital. But today’s great CEOs need to be equally great at managing human capital.” Harvard Business Review’s Eric Garton asks, “How can we manage human capital better?”


HR On The Precipice: The End Of The Employee

May 15, 2017

“The new-age employment structure is presenting some interesting challenges for HR,” says Forbes’ Sylvia Vorhauser-Smith, “Now more than ever, organizations need HR to step up and deliver on the business promises they have made in putting human capital at the center of growth and innovation. It puts HR on the precipice of a cliff – it’s time to build a bridge across the chasm.”