To get the most out of this website, please upgrade your browser to the latest version.

Article Review Service

Your time is valuable and staying on top of the latest information is tough, so let us do some of the work for you. We comb through over two dozen magazines, journals, and websites to bring you good reading on culture, leadership, teams, and more. Share your e-mail address using the form on the right, and we'll deliver a list of the top articles straight to your inbox once each month. You'll also receive instant access to our white paper library. Both are free, and are a valuable addition to your development toolkit.

Culture

How 2,000 Random Coffees Changed My Company’s Culture

December 11, 2017

Could the simple act of connecting employees for a conversation over a cup of coffee have an impact on your culture? “Social technologies have transformed our personal lives in the last decade, enabling a kind of intimacy and collaboration hard to imagine before. Ever so slowly, that same spirit—applying technology to bring people closer in real life—is finding its way inside company walls. And, ultimately, human connection is what distinguishes great companies from ordinary ones.”


These 7 Traits Are Essential to Great Company Culture. Here’s How to Protect Them.

November 29, 2017

“All your efforts to build a high-performing culture will be for nothing if your daily decisions don’t support your organization’s values,” says Inc’s Michael Schneider. “Be mindful of your choices and ensure each one is supportive of your organization’s values.”


Leadership

How Leaders and Their Teams Can Stop Executive Hubris

December 1, 2017

“Hubris is an acquired trait, not a deeply rooted personality disorder. It comes on gradually, growing as a leader’s power grows — and it can be managed and even nipped in the bud.” Jonathan Mackey and Sharon Toye share practical steps for short-circuiting executive hubris.


The Strength of Vulnerable Leaders

November 30, 2017

“Leaders do not have to be perfect in order to be successful,” says Augusto Giacomo in Strategy+Business. “Quite the opposite. Admitting mistakes, being open and honest, and accepting foibles and flaws yields far more effective results than projecting an untouchable facade. Tough leaders may inspire through fear or intimidation. Vulnerable leaders inspire with authenticity and humanity. And it’s the latter that is more likely to yield better results.”


Teams

How To Build Amazing Teams – Insights From An Olympic Medalist

December 5, 2017

“When you need all of the proverbial oars rowing as one, that degree of collaboration never happens by itself. It happens when your team is designed to work that way.” Forbes’ Ron Carucci talks with World-Champion rower and three-time Olympic medalist Caryn Davies.


Reimagining Effective Cross-Functional Teams

November 28, 2017

“Bringing diverse talent together — and allowing that talent to accomplish big things — has become the norm for how work gets done. But the way most companies use this talent needs serious improvement,” say Sally Blount and Paul Leinwand in Strategy+Business. “Cross-functional teams have the opportunity to unleash great results, but only if we ensure they are set up in the right way and given the support they need in order to work.”


Other

Stop Talking About Change. Start Talking About Adaptation!

December 4, 2017

“Are you really motivated to change or are you motivated to adapt or improve?” asks Brad Wolff on TLNT. Interesting thoughts on why we should consider removing the word “change” from the organizational lexicon.


CEOs Should Leave Strategy to Their Team — and Save Their Focus for Execution

November 21, 2017

“The common perception is that strategy is done at the top of the org chart, and execution is done below,” says Roger L. Martin in Harvard Business Review. “It is exactly the opposite.”


Subscribe to our Podcast
iTunes
RSS Feed
Stitcher Radio
Start Leading with Intention
Download an excerpt from Mindy Hall’s upcoming book Leading with Intention, and you’ll also receive our free, monthly Article Review Service.